Chair Rescue

This poor little chair was on it’s way to be dumped when I saw it outside my next door neighbours house. It had belonged to her mother-in-law who had died a few years back in her eighties, so it has been around for quite some time. I asked her if I could have it as I thought it was a nice little chair. She agreed and so the make-over began.

Firstly I rubbed it down with wire wool and then gave it a coat of primer.

It then got two coats of gloss in duck egg blue, which happens to be my most favourite colour at the moment! Then it moved into it’s new home in the corner of my greenhouse.
I’ve just finished this little blanket and I think it goes quite well with the chair.

This is my version of the blanket from Dottie Angel it’s Tif’s ‘Ordinarily Extraordinary Blanket’. Quite a relaxing little make it is too! A photo of the full blanket can be found here.

So that’s the story of the little rescued chair. I like this little corner of my greenhouse, the rest of it is full of tomatoes (as it should be, it is a greenhouse after all). It’s just nice to have a pretty corner to keep me happy until I can have something like the one pictured below which is taken from Septembers’ Country Homes & Interiors magazine.

A girl can dream, can’t she!!!

Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

38 responses to “Chair Rescue”

  1. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank YOU Zoe!!! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  2. Love, love, love the litle chair and that crochet blanket is gorgeous, Vivienne. Thanks so much for your lovely comments.

  3. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Amanda!
    I really love my greenhouse. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  4. Love the chair and the inspiration photo. Your one lucky lady to have a green house :)!

  5. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Emma! 🙂
    I think you’re right it is a compulsion but a pretty one!!
    Vivienne x

  6. Oh! Your chair is stunning. What a perfect makeover. That is my favourite colour. I think I have a little too much of it in my house though. It’s a compulsion.

  7. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you Dani, glad you like what I have done! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  8. A gorgeous lovely chair stands true ones trash is another treasure. It’s beautiful what you have done.

  9. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Niki! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  10. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Jane! Yay for duck egg blue! I’m sure it will be a lovely touch in your dining room. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  11. What a lucky chair Vivienne and how lovely that it has been brought to life again. You have made a super job and the crochet pad is perfect. Duck egg blue is my colour of the moment too, we are in the process of decorating our dining room and it will have a feature here.
    Jane x

  12. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Awe Val, it’s always lovely to see you here too, always!!! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  13. Dear Vivienne, You really Make My Day, you cheer my day when I go to my blog and see you have popped in it is like opening the door to a dear friend and saying “I am so glad to see you!”
    Thanks :0) Hugs to you
    Val xx

  14. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you Lisette, I am pleased how it turned out! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  15. That chair is definitly rescued! It’s so pretty. Amazing.

  16. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks for your lovely comment Simone. 🙂
    If you could see the other side of the greenhouse though, it is full of mad tomato plants too!
    Vivienne x

  17. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you Vanessa! I think I’m bordering on the obsessional with duck egg blue though!!! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  18. A wonderful chair makeover! I wish I had such a glamorous greenhouse to put such a fine chair. Mine is full of sprawling tomato plants at the moment that have got quite out of hand! The blanket is lovely too. My, you have been busy!!! x

  19. I do love chair rescues! Your new chair has been beautifully rescued, love the duck egg blue, and the blanket, well, it’s beautiful. Love Vanessa xxx

  20. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Justine
    Good idea, if there’s nothing wrong with them give them a lick of paint, they’ll look like new!
    Vivienne x

  21. Lovely chair! What a find, it looks great in blue. I’m going to revamp my wooden kitchen chairs, we’re getting a bigger table but the chairs are OK so are getting a revamp instead thrown and replaced.

  22. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Val, as always, for your lovely comment. Yes, I knew the original owner of the chair for quite a few years and I think she would have been very happy that I took such an interest in her little chair!
    Have a lovely week Val! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  23. Hi Vivienne Thanks for stopping by my little blog (glad you think Bella is sweet! She really is my little sweetie :0) – I think I have some of your lovely duck egg blue colour in the throw I blogged about. I know what you mean about the colour ….. it is very calming but also very scrumptious at the same time! I love how you have so lovingly restored the chair, I am sure the original owner would be very happy to see it today. It looks lovely in your greenhouse, I imagine you enjoy many a happy time contemplating your growing things and your creative inspirational things ….. with a nice hot cup of tea and perhaps a cookie!
    Have a lovely day …. dreaming …… but I think you already have a dream come true!
    Val xx

  24. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Nina! We should start a duck egg blue fan club, everyone loves it. 🙂
    Hope your sun returns.
    Vivienne x

  25. You’ve done a fabulous job on that chair and it matches your blanket perfectly – I think they were made for each other.

    take care

    Nina xx

    ps. I have a soft spot for duck egg blue too. N xx

  26. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you very much for your lovely comment!
    Enjoy the weekend. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  27. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you, it is a great colour!
    Have a lovely weekend. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  28. Love the chair and the blanket is awesome – great colors! 🙂

  29. I LOVE what you have done with that chair..and that is one of my favourite colours too! Gorgeous.

    Bellaboo :o)

  30. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Pam!
    Haven’t seen your bedroom but if there’s duck egg blue in there, I love it! lol
    Have yourself a great weekend! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  31. I’m pretty stuck on duck egg blue too – have just decorated my bedroom and there’s an awful lot of it in there.
    The chair looks gorgeous, but the blanket is wonderful. I love the idea of a cosy corner of the greenhouse.
    Enjoy your weekend,
    Pam x

  32. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Awe thanks Gina, have a really lovely weekend! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  33. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Mia, it is a lovely little place to be and the temperatures are great!
    Enjoy your weekend! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  34. I think I prefer your little corner to the one in Country Homes. It is a beautiful colour!

  35. Girl can dream, sure, but your corner is dreamy already! Did I see your crocheting/knitting basket next to that little chair? That is one fabulous place to sit and enjoy, and even if it rains – there’s the roof to keep you dry!

    Have the happiest weekend!

    Yours,
    Mia

  36. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thank you for your lovely comment, you would not believe how much I love that colour!!
    Enjoy your weekend. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  37. love it! :o)

    the chair turned out really well, colour is gorgeous…but my fav thing is the blanket, gorgeous colours and such simplicity…wish it was mine to own, I think I would be attached to it….forever!

    hugs

    hello gorgeous xxx

Leave a comment