My Park

I thought today I would take you for a walk through my park! Well it’s not just my park I do have to share with the rest of population of the town and surrounding areas. This is a place that we use a lot, during the summer we are in here almost every day of the week and the weather would have to be absolutely horrendous for us not to be here on a Sunday afternoon! I love it! 🙂

It is the second largest park on the island of Ireland the only one bigger is Phoenix Park in Dublin not bad for a provencial town. It is widely used by many sports, it has football, rugby and cricket pitches, tennis courts and an outdoor bowling green. It is used for many events including motor rallies, concerts, firework displays and agricultural shows and it has a very modern childrens play area.

What I love it for is it’s lovely woodland and beautiful and very old trees and of course it’s wildlife which includes squirrels, rabbits and foxes and a great variety of birds and water fowl.

It has many paths and trails through the trees and I have walked them all many, many times.

Just look at this ancient bark, it would make a lovely knitting pattern if you could work it out!

It has a huge lake which is used by many birds including swans, geese, many breeds of duck, water hens, coots and grebes.

The big building you can see in the photographs is Brownlow House or as it is known locally ‘the castle’.

Many, many years ago the park was actually the grounds of Brownlow House. Brownlow House was built in 1839 but hasn’t been inhabited since the late 19th century. It has recently had some restoration work done and it is used for functions including weddings.

The park is a lovely place to visit all year round. In the spring we enjoy all the new babies on the lake, in summer it is a sea of green, in autumn a great place to go if you like wading through leaves and in winter you always get a great welcome from the wildfowl when you arrive with a big bag of bread!
All this and it’s only a 10 minute walk from my front door!

So that’s ‘my park’, I hope you enjoyed your walk! 🙂

33 responses to “My Park”

  1. Great article.

  2. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Everything seems so much better in the sunshine Jane!!
    I have to say October so far has been a lovely month, we’ve had absolutely brilliant weather. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  3. OOOOOOOps I have left my apple comment on your glorious park post Vivenne, that will teach me for not checking!!!
    Love the photos again, how beautiful you home is….and always better in the sushine!!!
    Take care, Jane x

  4. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Thanks Amanda!
    I often wonder what the house was like when it was lived in!
    Vivienne x

  5. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    I know Simone, we’re very fortunate! Sometimes we just have to stop and think about how lucky we are as we often take it all for granted!
    Vivienne x

  6. WOW that park looks magical!!! Imagine living in that house?! Love your pictures 🙂

  7. You have a lovely park. So close by too! x

  8. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Mia
    We’re still enjoying the good weather and the weekend forecast is looking good too!
    Hope you have a lovely weekend too! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  9. What a wonderful place – swans and castles 🙂 Seems just perfect for a long walk! And it’s still so green around you, I am amazed, no wonder you still enjoy almost-summer 🙂

    Have a wonderful and sunny weekend, Viv!

    Yours,
    Mia

  10. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Liz!
    It’s so nice to have you ‘visit’ here!
    Thank you so much for your lovely comment.
    How absolutely wonderful to live near to Yellowstone National Park, brilliant! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  11. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    You’re welcome Corry! 🙂
    I’m so glad you enjoyed the tour!!
    Vivienne x

  12. Liz in Missouri, USA Avatar
    Liz in Missouri, USA

    During the very best part of my life I lived at the doorstep of Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming. I totally get the idea of “my park”. The beauty of the nature in all it’s forms – from the tiniest wee flower snuggled under the moss to the literal majesty of the rocky mountains was/is my inspiration to life. A park – whether in the city or in the wilderness in my opinion is where we can best renew our spirits. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely space. I know how it can help a person breathe!

  13. What a beautiful park, and practically in your backyard. you are so lucky! Thanks for the tour.

  14. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    I so glad you enjoyed your walk Lisette!!
    We are very lucky to have it so near to us. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  15. I just finished dinner and really enjoyed a walk in your beautiful park, afterwards! Thanks. (you’re very lucky with such a beautiful park around)

  16. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Val
    I often wonder what the place was like when the gentry lived in the ‘big’ house and the park was their garden!
    Looking forward to seeing the wardrobe makeover!
    Love to Bella. xxx
    Vivienne x

  17. You are very blessed Vivienne, your park (even shared!) is a lovely
    place … must have been an awesome place to live in its glory days.
    I love trees, I really could be a tree hugger; hate to hear those dreadful chain saws!!
    By the way …. Bella is safe from my decopatch glue …. but I think she is the only safe one! My wardrobe may be my next project!
    love for now,
    Val xx

  18. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Melanie!
    It is great to have somewhere locally to go for a lovely walk without having to get in the car to drive to it!
    Vivienne x

  19. What a lovely park 🙂 Our local park is getting a revamp at the mo, I cant wait for it to be finished so we can go for a stroll in it 🙂 xxxx

  20. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Dani!
    It’s a very beautiful park, we love it!
    Vivienne x

  21. Wowww-Wheee! Vivienne, what a park can I move in with you? lol! It’s smashingly beautiful oh how I would love to visit Ireland someday.

    Can see why the C word is hard to use right now. Here it is cool and the leaves have changed not so hard to use the word. Did you see my giveaway am taking your advice. Take a peek and enter.

    Thank you for the beautiful photographs once again.
    Hugs, Dani

  22. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Wow Amy, I didn’t know you studied here and how great that you even had picnics in ‘my park’! It really is a small world. 🙂
    Vivienne x

  23. Hey I’ve been there! I studied at Queens in Belfast and spent my weekends visiting Uni friends all over, we had a couple of picnics in Lurgan Park! You’re so lucky to live close to somewhere so lovely 😀

  24. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    It is a big part of family life here in the town. The primary school that my children attended is right next to the park. In fact the school has it’s own private gate into the park so the children can go on nature walks!
    Vivienne x

  25. What a beautiful park – and how lovely to have somewhere so close to go for walks whenever you want. I love the old trees and the wonderful ‘castle’ – they have such a sense of history, and it’s so nice that they have become part of your family’s history too.
    Helen x

  26. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Ann!
    We are lucky to have it on our doorstep!
    Vivienne x

  27. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Emma!
    It really is fab and very well used by the community! A great place for kids!
    Vivienne x

  28. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Well Nina, you come on over and I’ll go and hug them with you! 🙂
    Vivienne x

  29. greenrabbitdesigns Avatar
    greenrabbitdesigns

    Hi Jill!
    We do really enjoy it and we have so many photos throughout the years of the children at different stages in the park!
    Vivienne x

  30. Gorgeous! You are so fortunate to have such lovely surroundings and so much history! It’s what we sorely lack here in the states 🙂

  31. Your park is fab, I wish I had such a great park near here.
    x

  32. Mmmmmmm – what a dreamy park and I love all those trees. Makes me want to go and hug them all.

    Nina xxx

  33. Lucky, lucky you – what a beautiful park, and only 10 minutes away. Some people wouldn’t even appreciate being so close to such a wonderful green space. It cheers my heart to know that you and your family use it and above all, love it.
    x

Leave a comment