Welcome 2012




Here we are at the beginning of a bright shiny new year and I love it!

I’m now in pre-spring, in my books winter is now over, December is the only month in winter in my world! January and February are pre-spring, March to May are spring, June to September are summer and October and November are autumn. It’s just how I deal with it all, five seasons and nine months of spring/summer! 🙂 What a beautiful start to pre-spring we have too, dry, bright and sunny! This month I start my spring cleaning so that it’s all done when spring properly arrives and I can get back out into the garden.

I couldn’t move into the new year though without taking a look back at 2011. On the whole it was a good year, I picked one photo from each month but there were so many photos to choose from in fact I got my yearly report from wordpress and apparently I uploaded 989 photos onto my blog this past year. Also if Green Rabbit Designs had been a concert it would have sold out the Sydney Opera house for 17 nights in a row, they do have a fun way of giving you your stats! I’ve had fun on the blog looking at the changes in my tree, taking you for a walk in ‘my park’, showing you my knitting and crocheting, a little bit baking and lots of flowers and gardening. Of course all these things were made all the more fun by having all you lovely people to share them with, so thank you for being there.
2011 was the year of many kittens, watching our son perform with his band, our 30th wedding anniversary and of course right at the end my daughter and her boyfriends engagement (wedding will be summer 2013), again thank you for all your wonderful comments on all these events.

So we’re all ready to take on a new year with new adventures and lots of blogging fun along the way!

I wish you all a wonderful, fantastic, healthy, fun and adventure filled year!

Happy 2012 !!! 🙂

26 responses to “Welcome 2012”

  1. I am so ready for spring. Even though we have not yet had winter I am ready to move on. Your post made me want to go find Spring flowers for the house and I still have to get the Christmas stuff down. I wonder if I cut some Forsythia I could coax it into bloom. Nah, its still sleeping.
    Thanks for a glimpse of Spring
    Janice

  2. Such a good idea! What a lovely garden you have,!

  3. “pre-spring” ? i like it !
    love all of your beautiful photo’s and a very happy new year to you
    love jooles x

  4. Very impressive mosaic! A Happy New Year!

  5. Dear Vivienne,

    I am back! Yippee! I am here to wish you and your family a peaceful, joyful new year with many happy creative moments.

    Stephanie

    ps I love your notion of a very quick winter…. I have never thought of the year like that before!

  6. I loved your looking back on 2011 photos. But now it’s good to look forward!!
    Thanks for sharing so many photos with your readers!

    Creative and Happy New Year, Vivienne……..

    Anne
    PlumCreek22

  7. Me too – I’m now a convert to the one month winter 🙂 What a great idea! I’m just about to take down all our decorations which I will kind of miss – the tree lights especially, but it does have a ‘new beginnings’ feel now which I’m liking very much. I’m looking forward to this year in a way which I haven’t done for a while, so hope it is a good one for us all! Here’s to a happy, creative, healthy 2012 Vivienne 🙂 Jenny xx

  8. Definitely ready for a New Year Vivienne – and just love the idea of a pre-Spring season.
    Happy New Year and looking forward to lots of happy blogging!
    P xx

  9. That’s so cool how WP gives you your stats. I’ve not been with blogger a year yet but I haven’t heard that they give you a report.

    I love that pouch with the strawberry!

    How exciting to have a wedding to chat about with your daughter.

    xxx

  10. Happy New Year! I hope you have a lovely 2012 🙂 xxx

  11. Happy New Year Vivienne.
    I enjoyed your year in review picture show.
    Love your blog and all the lovely things you share. I look forward to visiting often in 2012.

  12. As you know, I’m an autumn/winter kind of girl but really for me it’s all about changing seasons and even I’m looking forward to spring now. I’m so impatient. Hope you have a fabulous 2012, I really look forward to reading your blog and seeing what you get up to in the coming year. Bethxx

  13. Hi Vivienne,
    Lovely summary of the past year. Enjoyed your take on the winter months, I may have to adapt that to my thinking!! Thank you dear friend, xoRobin❤

  14. Hello Vivienne, i’ve had fun too! Thank you for sharing so many beautiful things.

    Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Lou x x x

    PS. Fantastic pictures!

  15. Happy New Year Vivienne!…I hope 2012 brings all good things for you and your family….love looking back at your beautiful photographs and definitely looking forward to visiting you through 2012 lovely friend,
    Susan x

  16. Lovely post, and yes, I like the idea of pre spring very much too! I already think in that way, because as soon as the Christmas decorations come down I like lots of bulbs and flowers around so that the growing season begins for me! Wishing you a Happy New Year, Vivienne, and a wonderful creative year ahead.
    Helen x

  17. Love your blog. As someone who has an early February birthday I love your idea that it will be spring then.
    Thank you for such a positive post and I hope 2012 will be he best of years for you.
    Happy New Year
    Susan

  18. Happy New Year Vivienne, it is a foul 1st of Jan here, absolutely raining cats and dogs, so dark that I’ve already got the lights on to read. But all that said I feel some of your positive vibes have brushed off on me since reading your first post of 2012.
    What a fab idea if we only have December as winter, I’m adopting that too!
    I was thinking about your blog posts on the monthly tree this morning because as I look out here I can see a tree with pink blossom coming out! Not sure what the tree is but it seems very early.
    I look forward to following your adventures this year and I’m feeling positive that it will be a good year for all of us in blogland.
    All the best, Sally x

  19. Happy New Year, Vivienne… hope 2012 is a wonderful one for you :)) xo

  20. Dear Vivienne,

    You just made my day with your “one month winter” – I am so into that idea! So here’s to New Year 2012 and spring, too!

    Yours,
    Mia

    P.S. Wonderful creations in that mosaic, wishing you a busy crafting year too!

  21. I’m so with you on the Pre-Spring months – as soon as January arrives I am itching to get out in my garden and get started so I’m really hoping that the mild spell we had in December carries on through January and February.

    Wishing you a wonderful 2012 Vivienne!!! 🙂

  22. What fun those stats are. Hoping 2012 brings you many more nights at the opera Vivienne ;D Happy New Year!

  23. You have really cheered me up Vivienne! It is pre-spring – Yay!!!!!!!! I will start my spring cleaning this week too and get the greenhouse cleared out in preparation for the months ahead. I have loved visiting you in 2011, and am looking forward to seeing you in 2012 too. Have a happy, healthy and wonderful year! x

  24. I love your mosaic of the year Vivienne, so many happy times and yes the days are lengthening again; what a lovely thought. I have so enjoyed sharing every one of them with you. Here’s to another great year followed by “The Year of The Wedding” for your family. So much to raise our glasses to. Happy New Year my friend,
    Jane x

  25. I’m another one who is happy to adopt the Green Rabbit Calendar but sadly we are most definitely still in Winter here, a grey WET one too ! 17nights at the SOH is a grand achievement, I think that’s a great fun way of measuring stats.
    Happy New Year to you all Vivienne, I’m looking forward to sharing it with you.
    Kate xx

  26. What a lovely positive post. I love the idea of only having one month of winter – I must change my calendar to that too!

    Best wishes for 2012 and looking forward to more of your lovely posts.

Leave a comment