image

Welcome to pre-spring!!!

Anyone who is a regular visitor here will know that according to the Green Rabbit calendar we are now in pre-spring!

If you’re new here the Green Rabbit calendar is as follows ~

Pre-Spring ~ January and February
Spring ~ March, April and May
Summer ~ June, July, August and September
Autumn ~ October and November
Winter ~ December

I’m sure you’ll agree this is a much better calendar than the normal one, one month of winter is really enough for anyone.

The first photo was taken on the first day of the year and just look at the sky, the weather has been extremely mild and there are lots of signs that spring is on the way.

image

Bulbs are pushing their way through the soil all over my garden!

image

In fact I’m only beginning to realise how many bulbs I planted last autumn!!!

image

The little primroses that I kept in the greenhouse since last spring are now beginning to bloom.

image

The trees too are beginning to come to life again with lots of little buds forming, it really seems no time since they dropped their leaves, I much prefer this time of year though when it’s all beginning to happen again.

image

So with images like these how can you not agree that we are edging closer to springtime. I know a lot of people don’t like January but I love the fact that we can see spring and summer on the horizon.

image

Of course no time in the garden happens without at least one assistant (usually more), today’s helper was the beautiful Lily!

I hope you all manage to get out outside this weekend to look for the signs of spring and embrace this hopeful time of year!!!

Happy weekend! :)

