As many of you already know I live in County Armagh which due to it’s acres of orchards is also known as the Orchard County. It’s the apple harvest at the moment and by all accounts it’s a good one this year with a large crop of apples.

Many of the local churches hold their Harvest Festivals at this time of year and of course in this area apples form many of the displays!

The photo above was taken outside my local fruit and veg shop at the weekend, all the apples for sale are grown locally.

We brought these home with us and this box of apples ( there’s two missing, we couldn’t wait ) cost Β£1.50, not bad when you consider how many you get. Now they’re not all the same shape and size like the perfectly formed ones you get in the big supermarkets but unlike the supermarket models they do have the most wonderful taste !

It’s not just eating apples either there’s cooking apples aplenty. These lovely Bramley apples became……….

……….this apple tart which went down nicely with custard after lunch yesterday!! πŸ™‚

One of my favourite things as I think I’ve mentioned before in a previous post are toffee apples, I just adore them. I do eat more than one a week (that’s all I’m admitting to anyway) ! Well they do say ” an apple a day keeps the doctor away “, it doesn’t say they can’t be covered in toffee!!! πŸ˜‰

All these apples have inspired me to knit some as well !

Now in celebration of the apple harvest I thought I would have a little giveaway so I made an ‘apple colours’ inspired corsage! When out shopping at the weekend I bought this little candle which has the scent of Caramel Apples (oh yum!). So if you would like the corsage and candle all you have to do is leave a comment on this post!
As you know I always like to personally answer all your comments but as this is a giveaway post I’m going to thank you in advance so I don’t mess up the numbers. The fact that you take the time to stop by here, read my ramblings and then leave a comment is sooooo appreciated, so thank you !!!
The giveaway closes on Thursday 14th October at midnight (British Summer Time, which is coming to an end, sniff !)
I’ll be back on Friday with the name of the winner.

In the meantime from a very sunny and warm Orchard County have a good week ! πŸ™‚

………………………………..Thank you, the giveaway is now closed!………………………………

