A little restaurant we go to for lunch occasionally, produces award-winning cinnamon scones. The recipe is a closely guarded secret and under no circumstances is anyone ever going to find out how they make them.
I have had them so many times and they are absolutely delicious! However each time I have one it’s like I’m performing an autopsy on the poor scone so determined am I to discover how they’re made.
Now I have tried making them many different ways never getting them quite right. Now they’re just scones so there can’t be too many variations on how to do it.
Well this time I think I have come very close to the ‘real’ thing and unlike the restaurant I’m going to share my recipe with you!

Ingredients:
8oz self-raising flour
pinch of salt
2oz butter
1oz caster sugar
milk to mix

Filling:
dark brown soft sugar
ground cinnamon

I use a food processor to make my scone mix as I think the less you handle it the better and the food processor makes it so quickly.
So put your flour, salt and butter in the processor and give it a whizz until it resembles fine breadcrumbs, or it you prefer rub the butter into the flour and salt by hand. Then add the caster sugar and give it another whizz to mix it through, next you add enough milk to produce a soft but not too sticky dough.

Roll out your dough into a rectangle about 8 inches by 10 inches. Brush the rectangle of dough with milk and sprinkle on a layer of dark brown soft sugar, then sprinkle on a generous layer of ground cinnamon. Roll up the dough from the narrow end just as you would a swiss roll and seal the end with milk. Cut the roll into 8 slices, put them on a very well greased and floured baking tray and brush them with milk, they should at this stage look like the scones in the photo above. Bake them in a hot oven (200 deg C) for about approximately 10 minutes until they’re golden brown.

They are best eaten straight from the oven with a knob of butter and a mug of hot tea!
Enjoy ! 🙂

