Firstly can I appologize to all those whose New Years resolutions may be tested by this post!

Last weekend my husband and I had Mars bar scones when out for elevenses. Now it’s not the first time we have had these but it got me thinking about making some.

I decided to use the same basic scone mix that I used in my Cinnamon Scones with the one difference, I used buttermilk instead of milk to mix the dough. My mother and grandmother always used buttermilk when making bread and scones.

The ingredients then are as follows:-

8oz self-raising flour
pinch of salt
2oz butter
1oz caster sugar
buttermilk to mix

and of course a double Mars bar!

Put the flour, salt, and butter into a food processor and give them a whizz until they resemble fine breadcrumbs. You can do this by hand but the less scone mix is handled, I think, the better. Then add the sugar and give the mixture another whizz.

Put the mixture into a bowl as the Mars bars needed to be stirred through, as the food processor would chop them to bits and you want to find a good lump of chocolate in your scone (mmmm!).

Cut each bar into about 12 pieces, being very careful that none of these bits fall into your mouth!!! Stir the chocolate pieces through the mixture.

Next add enough buttermilk to make a soft but not too sticky dough.

Then divide the dough into 8 equal parts and form into scone shapes. Again I don’t roll the dough and cut the scones with a cutter as I don’t like to work the dough too much. Put the scones on a well-greased and floured baking tray. Brush the top of the scones with some buttermilk and bake in a hot oven (200 deg C) for about 10 minutes until golden brown, keep an eye on them as ovens vary.

Enjoy them warm and buttered with a nice cup of tea!

Once again apologies for testing any New year resolutions, including my own!!

Have a great weekend everyone! 🙂

