Hi everyone I’d like to introduce you to Smokey Bear!

I managed to knit him over the weekend between shopping, enjoying time with my family, walking in the park and going to the cinema to see ‘The King’s Speech’ (brilliant film, well worth seeing if you’ve not done so already).

Since working with the mohair yarn I have had it in my head to make a bear. I used to make a lot of knitted toys of all descriptions when my daughter was small but haven’t done so in a long time. I used the charcoal grey mohair as it was my favourite shade out of all the colours I have and taking his name from the shade I chose, Smokey was born.

Now I don’t know if I’ll be rushing to make another one any way soon as it’s a fiddly business with a lot of starting and stopping and increasing and decreasing on very small pieces of knitting. I long to do a stretch of knitting without any stoppages, I think another bag is brewing!! I have great admiration for a knitter like Julie who makes the most beautiful little animals on the finest of needles with the finest of yarns!

Anyway Smokey has settled in well and has made friends with my old well-loved bear that I have from my own childhood. The old bear has seen a lot of life so he’ll take good care of him!

Thanks for dropping in and have a great week! 🙂

Edited to add: Sorry folks I should have given you details of the pattern I used to make Smokey, should you wish to knit him some relatives! It’s from Jean Greenhowe’s Jemima-Jane and Friends and I used the pattern for ‘A Hug of Miniature Teddy Bears’ knitting the largest bear (which isn’t very large at all).

