Yesterday afternoon I decided to make some Peppermint Creams, nothing like a little peppermint something with a cup of tea. I thought you might like to have the recipe for them, you may of course have your own variation of these little traybakes and maybe you even use this one but for those of you who don’t, here we go.

Firstly line a swiss roll tin with baking parchment.

In a bowl cream together:-

4 oz margarine
4 oz sugar

then add,

4 oz plain flour
half teaspoon baking powder
2 oz cocoa powder
4 oz coconut

Now I use a food processor and I put all the above ingredients in at the one time and whizz them all together until well mixed but if you’re not using a food processor then use the above method.

When it’s all mixed then press it into the swiss roll tin and bake at 160 deg C (fan oven) for about 10 minutes. Please keep an eye on it as all ovens vary. When it is ready leave aside until it is completely cooled.

In a bowl mix together:-

4 oz icing sugar
2 oz butter

then add some peppermint flavouring to your own taste.

You can then add some green food colouring if you wish. I think it’s a psychological thing, that if the cream is green it makes it seem more like mint. If you have young children you may wish to leave the colouring out, I added it as I need all the E-numbers I can get these days!! πŸ˜‰

Spread the peppermint cream over the cooked base.

Next melt 9 oz dark chocolate, you can of course use whatever type of chocolate you wish but I think dark goes well with mint.

Pour the chocolate over the cream. (Don’t you just want to stick your finger into that chocolate!)

Then put it in the fridge to set firm.

When set cut into squares and enjoy! πŸ™‚

Well the weekend is almost upon us again and I’ve a bit of a mixed bag this weekend. On Friday night we’re going to watch my son’s band perform, they are headlining a local festival, fingers crossed for a dry and sunny evening. My days of rolling around in the mud ‘Glastonbury style’ are long gone!! Then on Saturday I’m going to another Debbie Abrahams knitting workshop. I’m not sure what I’m knitting but it’s title is ‘Strawberries and Cream’, perhaps trying to get us in the mood for Wimbledon (come on Andy Murray)! As both events are in the same neck of the woods, we are staying the night in a lovely hotel, so looking forward to that. So a bit of Rock & Roll and a bit of knitting, they do say variety is the spice of life!!

I’m going to leave with another little purchase I’ve made from Mia’s lovely shop. I find her creations very hard to resist especially when there are rabbits involved!

Have a great weekend whatever you get up to and thanks as always for dropping in to see me. πŸ™‚

