Welcome to the ‘Kingdom of Mourne’!
This magnificient area was the setting for the Festival of Flight this past weekend.

The Mourne Mountains are Northern Ireland’s highest mountains with Slieve Donard being the highest peak at 2789 feet. Now I know in the grand scale of things they’re aren’t huge but they certainly are beautiful!

I want to thank you all for the ‘finger crossing’ I asked for last Friday because the weather on Saturday in this little corner of Northern Ireland was lovely. When we left home it was pouring and we gathered together raincoats, umbrellas, and wellies but when we got to Newcastle, Co Down the one thing we needed and didn’t bring were our sunglasses!

We had brought a picnic with us and we settled down on the beach in the sun and waited for the air show to begin.

The air display included the French Patrouille Reva, the Irish Air Corps and a US World War 2 Mustang but there is no doubt the stars of the show were the RAF Red Arrows!!

The display that these pilots put on was amazing!

Something I don’t think I have shared with you before is that I have had a lifelong facination with airplanes, I love them, I could spend all day at an airport watching them take off and land. So an air display is a real treat for me.

I’m pleased to say that one of the Red Arrow pilots is a woman. Perhaps I’ll be a pilot and fly a Red Arrow when I grow up (whenever that might be!). πŸ˜‰

The photo above was taken by my husband as his camera is much better at fast faraway things than mine and to be honest this was so exciting I wanted to watch it not photograph it!

They finished their absolutley brilliant display with their famous Red Arrow heart with the arrow through the centre! I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this. πŸ™‚

Now the dark clouds gathered over the mountains but then moved on to thankfully rain on someone else. We wandered around the little town which as well as many pretty little gift shops has a yarn shop and a lovely bead shop, then we had our evening meal in a gorgeous Italian restaurant. We then went to the music festival in the evening to watch my son’s band play.

Of course General Fiasco were brilliant! πŸ™‚

We finished off our day at the seaside with one of these. You just have to, don’t you! πŸ˜‰

So another lovely summer day out came to an end, don’t you just wish it could be summer all the time!

