Well as much as it pains me to say it, I have to admit that unfortunately summer is coming to an end. I think we can probably squeeze another two or three weeks out of it but not much more. I really don’t mind autumn it’s just I prefer spring and summer. I do love autumn colours though, they are in fact some of my favourite colours but I really don’t like the fact that the days are getting shorter.

The garden is still in full bloom, my sunflowers although not as many and certainly not as tall as other years are still beautiful and my absolute favourite flower.

It never ceases to amaze me how such a giant flower can come from such a small seed!

The insects are still very busy in the garden, trying to get as much done before the end of summer!

I hope you don’t mind seeing so much cosmos on my blog, it must be every other post. It’s just that my garden is full of them and I do love them!

The Black-Eyed Susan is looking good at the moment too and really is sunshine on a rainy day!

There is a lot of bright yellow and gold in the garden at this time of year, it’s as if the flowers have to try harder as the season comes to an end.

Of course this is harvest time too and I was delighted to see how many potatoes I got from one small bag. It was like looking for buried treasure. They taste delicious too and I will definitely grow them again next year and in greater quantities.

I also have had a good crop of tomatoes this year too, nothing quite like the taste of a home grown tomato.

It’s not just me though who has been enjoying the late summer garden, my new little cat friends have been making the most of it too!

R.J. really knows how to pose for a photo! Isn’t he gorgeous, he knows it though! πŸ™‚

Polly is just the sweetest little thing and definitely the most friendly of the three.

And little Lily, who can’t quite bring herself to trust us yet but we are making progress.

So it may be nearing the end of summer but there still is much to enjoy in the garden!

There is much to enjoy this weekend too as it’s my husband’s birthday tomorrow and we have a bank holiday on Monday so it’s a three day weekend! I hope you all have a lovely weekend too and as always thanks for dropping in to see me. πŸ™‚

