Today is the Winter Solstice, this year it falls on the 22nd December.
I love the Winter Solstice, I think I may even prefer it to the 25th (I know some of you will find that shocking)!!
The shortest day of the year is such a hopeful day, after today we will gradually regain our daylight and my heart skips a beat at the very thought of that!
I think it’s something like 2 minutes a day, so by the end of one week we’ll have gained almost a quarter of an hour and in a month’s time we will have an extra hour of daylight to call our own.
The above photo is of my daffodil bulbs just look how they are growing! We do have much milder temperatures than last year, today it was 12 degrees C which is about 30 degrees higher than last December. The weather forecasters have said we have no chance of a white Christmas but I don’t think I’ll lose any sleep over that!

This is what my greenhouse looks like today, we haven’t had to put the heater on at all this year and some of my summer plants are still blooming.

Now I know that you know that spring and summer are always in my heart but don’t worry we really do celebrate Christmas in this house!

Everywhere has been decorated, the house has now been cleaned from top to bottom, the presents bought and wrapped, the food shopping done except for fruit and veg and I think we’re now all ready for the festivities.

This will be my last post before the ‘big’ day. I want to thank you all so much for visiting me here during 2011, I really appreciate every single comment that has been left for me. I cherish the friendships I have made through blogging and I love visiting you all in your blogs too!

I hope you all have the most wonderful Christmas with the ones you love and I’ll see you all on the other side!

HAPPY CHRISTMAS !!! 🙂 xxxxxxxxxx

