I have a glut of tomatoes at the moment they have all decided to ripen at the one time but I suppose it’s better late than never!

So with all the tomatoes and the very wet, wild and windy weather we have been having I decided it was time for soup!!!

From the outset I have to say there are no measurements to these soup ingredients I just put in what I think and I believe with soup you can get away with that.

I put my tomatoes in a dish cutting up the bigger ones so they’re all roughly the same size, then to the tomatoes add a chopped onion, a chopped pepper (any colour) and a couple of chopped cloves of garlic, pour over some olive oil, I used extra virgin and then roast in a hot oven until all the vegetables are soft.

When the roasted vegetables have cooled down put them in a blender and blend until smooth. Add the blended vegetables to warm vegetable stock with salt and ground black pepper and stir through. Now unless you are in a hurry I would at this point leave the soup to sit for a while so that the flavours develop.

When you are ready to have your soup pour in a small carton of cream and warm the soup through.

Enjoy with some wheaten bread. My wheaten bread came from my local home bakery, I could never bake bread as well as they do!

Sorry it’s all ‘a bit of this and a bit of that’ but I think that’s how the best soups are made.

I think we are definitely into soup weather now!

Have a good week and stay cosy. 🙂

