tree fest 1

This beautiful country church is the church where my husband and I were married in 1981, it’s the one where my parents were married way back in 1944 and it’s the one where my daughter and her fiance will be married next year in 2013! There have been many family weddings, christenings (including my children, myself and my mother) and sadly funeral services held here over the years. It’s a special place for all my family.

It is a very beautiful old building but last weekend it became (if possible) even more so when it hosted a Christmas Tree Festival.

There were over 70 trees within it’s walls decorated by local businesses, individuals, organisations and local schools, each being given a brief and then left to their own imaginations how they would interpret it.

It was absolutely amazing with people queuing over the four days to get in to see it, many people returning for a second time to take it all in.

I thought I would share some of it with you, just so you can see some of the many trees, if I were show them all it would be a very long post.

rainbow tree
Rainbow Tree

perfume tree
Perfume Tree

The following trees were all decorated by local children from primary schools, playgroups etc.

animal tree bethlehem tree
Animal Tree & Bethlehem Tree
butterfly tree nativity tree
Butterfly Tree & Nativity Tree
star tree ewe tree
Star Tree & Ewe Tree

Now some of the more unusual trees……

upside down tree knitted tree
Upside Down Tree & Knitted Tree
spreding the word cushion tree
Spreading the Word Tree & Cushion Tree

So just a little taster of the Christmas Tree Festival, there were so many more beautiful and clever trees.

DSCN8382

Now this tree, the Gabriel Tree was a little bit special to me as I contributed a decoration to it!

DSCN8377

This is my little angel!

DSCN8378

She’s singing! ๐Ÿ™‚

tree fest 3

This was the last tree you passed on the way out, actually there were three of them and everyone was asked to write a little note and tie it on the tree before they left.

It was an extremely successful event and thanks to the very generous donations made a lot of money was raised for the upkeep of this lovely building.

With the exception of the Gabriel Tree and my angel photos all the photos in this post belong to my hubbie, his all singing, all dancing camera is much more suited to these occasions than my little point and shoot!

church at night

Before I leave you just a reminder that my giveaway is still on until midnight tomorrow (Thurs 6/12/12), you can leave a comment here to enter.

Happy Wednesday everyone, the Christmas decorations are coming out tonight! ๐Ÿ™‚

