DSCN0785

I love this day of the year, the Winter Solstice! Despite the very grey sky here this morning and the very low sun behind it, I know that tomorrow that same sun will be a little higher in the sky. The difference will be so slight we won’t even notice it but it will still happen and that does make me feel good!

The Google homepage has a brilliant little animation today of a scarf being knitted but when you click on the animation it says “First Day of Winter”. Well I’m sorry but I’m having none of that, according to my calendar there are only ten more days of winter left and then it’s pre-spring.

The proof????

DSCN0781

These are my daffodil bulbs and …….

DSCN0782

…….my primula, all photographed this morning in my garden!

DSCN0796

Just look at this photo, these are the buds on my cherry tree which only lost the last of its leaves a few weeks back. Despite the dull, grey sky, this photo makes my heart skip just to see those little signs of life.

So brace yourselves lovely people, you are going to get a lot more of this from me over the weeks ahead! 🙂

However in the meantime ………..

Winter Solstice Collage

……..I haven’t forgotten all about Christmas! We are in full Christmas mode here, my son is home from Berlin and we are more or less ready to celebrate!

DSCN0775

Wishing you all a very happy festive weekend, thanks as always for dropping by especially at this very busy time!

Happy Weekend! 🙂

