DSCN1587

It has been a weekend of two parts and I don’t just mean the weather, the less said about it the better!

The Giro d’Italia has visited our wee country and my Hb being a keen cyclist has been in his element. After the Opening Ceremony on Thursday a time trial was held through the streets of Belfast City on Friday evening and then yesterday the cyclists headed to the north coast and then back to the city in a stage of over 200 km. Today they head off to Dublin before they return to Italy.

The really good thing about Saturday was that the cyclists went through the town of Antrim where very fortunately for me, Garden Show, Ireland was being held as well, so I too got to be in my element.

We watched the race and then headed into Antrim Castle Gardens to see the garden show.

I should warn you that there are a lot of flower photos ahead!!!

DSCN1578

DSCN1582

DSCN1583

DSCN1585

DSCN1589

DSCN1591

DSCN1592

DSCN1593

DSCN1594

DSCN1598

DSCN1599

DSCN1600

DSCN1596

Can you tell that I enjoyed myself! I loved the growers pavilion the displays were amazing and most of the plants in the displays were for sale. I bought one of those pretty little orange plants in the photo above, it’s a Geum, Princess Juliana, the colour is so beautiful, it really stood out in the display.

Garden Show 1 Collage

There were some beautiful show gardens too with lovely planting.

Garden Show 2 Collage

And all kinds of quirky little displays.

Garden Show 3 Collage

It wasn’t just about plants and flowers either!

DSCN1607

Now as I mentioned at the beginning of this post (which seems a long time ago now) we have had a taste of Italy here this weekend and I don’t just mean the Italian ice cream I had yesterday afternoon!

Giro Collage

Here are all the cyclists (almost 200 of them) from all over the world cycling through Antrim yesterday. There has been a tremendous buzz about the Giro d’Italia coming here and almost everything has been turned pink, the colour of the winners jersey (maglia rosa).

Of course the garden show had to get in on the act too!

Garden Show 4 Collage

So something for everyone this weekend!

Enjoy the new week ahead and thanks as always for visiting! 🙂

